Camp Weequhic: Day 1

It was a four hour drive from Rhode Island to Camp Weequahic and I have to say, I have never been more excited and nervous for a job in my entire life. I’d be arriving 2 weeks before the campers and 1 full week before most of the staff because I was outdoor adventure. My job would be working at the rock wall, leading trails, mountain biking, and camping stuff in general. I’ve worked at rock walls before but I had no idea what I’d be getting into.
 I got there and soon realized I was only the 2nd counselor to arrive. The other one Kameryn arrived that morning and soon after I arrived a girl named AJ and a boy named Hall arrived, these three would be a part of the ropes group, As the summer progressed I became close to all of them. The first day was pretty uneventful. We got a tour of the camp, met our boss, a woman named Leena who I would come to respect more than any other boss I’ve ever had. Then we went back to the bunk we’d be staying in for the next two weeks.
Camp was beautiful. Pennsylvania wilderness is awesome. The camp had 30 cabins, a ropes course, a pool, a beach, and many more activities for the children.
As soon as we got back to the bunk it was nearing 10 pm. At around 11 pm the first van pulled up bringing in the first group of international counselors. Among this group were Stephen, Stuart, and Tom. These three would become some of my best friends at camp. They were also in ropes. Stuart was in my bunk, and we got to know each other that night. The next morning would be the beginning to an awesome summer.

Me and some friends at camp
http://www.weequahic.com/
map of weequahic:
http://www.weequahic.com/summer-camp-experience/virtual-tour.php

Leave a Reply

